2023 Albert W. Hawk Award for Distinguished School Board Service

  • Craig Phelps - 2023 Albert W. Hawk Award for Distinguished School Board Service

    His quiet, humble, yet profound style of service is often considered the conscience of the Board.  He analyzes challenges that arise carefully and objectively.

    Craig, as a Managing Member of Edgewood Farms LLC, in the Town of Groveland, has applied his Business Expertise to the Geneseo Board of Education.  HeCraig Phelps is also a past Town of Groveland Board Member.  Because of his experience and expertise, Craig has been the Chair of the Audit and Finance Committee.  His thoughtful and humble suggestions on how to improve the business of the school district are well-received and appreciated by the superintendent, school business officials, and members of the community.

    While serving on the town board, he was extremely respected for his business acumen, preparing budgets with the town supervisor.  More recently, he has been chosen to serve on the Board of Directors of the Genesee Valley Credit Union.  He also serves on the Genesee Valley Conservancy which works to preserve and protect agricultural lands in our area.

    Edgewood Farms was recently awarded the prestigious Farm of the Year Award by the Livingston County Chamber of Commerce.  Craig and his wife Heather have four grown children. 

Past Award Recipients

  • The Genesee Valley School Board’s Association presents this distinguished award annually to a current or former Board of Education Member who, as decided by the Distinguished Service Award Committee, has displayed outstanding contributions to public education and children in his or her community.  It truly reflects their tireless efforts to improve and enhance public education and the lives that they impact on a daily basis through School Board service.

    The award is named for Albert W. Hawk, a longtime advocate for rural schools and a member of both the Dansville Board of Education and the Genesee Valley BOCES.  Al also chaired many state and national School Board Committees and served as President of the New York State School Boards Association.  Al’s legacy and his support for public education are visible to this day.  His service has greatly inspired others.

    Past Recipients of the Albert W. Hawk Award

    2003           Albert W. Hawk

    2004           Ronald Pangrazio and Dr. J. David Woodruff

    2005           Harriet Worthington

    2006           James Morey

    2007           Lori Nelson

    2008           Norb Fuest and Michael Wolf

    2009           Dr. Rosemary Welsh Teres

    2010           Donald Barry Hobart

    2011           Richard Wilcox

    2012           Ed Engel

    2013           Betty Lapp

    2014           Larry Bonacquisti

    2015           Sarah Noble-Moag

    2016           Patrick D. Burk

    2017           Robert DeBruycker and Rodney George

    2018           Ann Hunt

    2019           Debra List

    2020           Jennifer Mehlenbacher

    2021           Timothy Anderson and Mary Ann Holden

    2022           Marirose Ethington

    2023           Craig R. Phelps